LadyBug Mecca

26 May


Ladybug Mecca
You may remember her soft-as-silk flow during her days with Digable Planets, when “Rebirth of Slick” (Cool Like Dat) was a favorite during Hip Hop’s zenith.

Ladybug Mecca has been in the process of developing her first solo album, “Trip the Light Fantastic” and has recently reunited with her former group members to drop a third Digable Planets album.

How does music from Ladybug differ from that of the Digable Planets era?

Well, first of all, Digable Planets was Digable Planets, which was three members. Ladybug is just Ladybug, I chose the music, I produced the music, I wrote all of the lyrics, so its just my interpretation, its my voice, versus a group. Also, versus having a label pick and choose and say yeah we want this record, no we don’t want this record, I don’t have that burden, I don’t have that annoyance. Gave me the freedom to do what I want to do. Also, in speaking about Ladybugs voice, back then I was a 17, 18, 19, 20 year old,. I was just a baby, I was just following the universe, following the wind, I don’t know how I got there. It was really just in the hands of the creator, now its different, I’m a woman, I handle my sh*t, I’ve experienced life, I’m a woman, a mother, an indigenous woman who knows what’s up, knows the bullsh*t, ,knows what’s real, that’s how I live my life.

Read more interview on Latin Rapper.Com

One Response to “LadyBug Mecca”

  1. Esther November 13, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    I don’t think you “know your shit”… and is you know… shit!! Yor shit was so much better with the digable planets essence

Leave a Reply

